Enchanting Nilgiris

The Name ‘Nilgiris’ means Blue hills (Neelam – Blue and giri – Hill or Mountain) the first mention of this name has been found in the Silappadikaram. There is a belief that the people living in the plains at the foot of the hills, should have given the name, the Nilgiris, in view of the violet blossoms of ‘kurinji’ flower enveloping the hill ranges periodically. The earliest reference to the political history of the Nilgiris, according to W.Francis relates to the Ganga Dynasty of Mysore.

Tour Plans

5 Days

4 Nights

Tour Itinerary

Day 1 : Arrive Coimbatore – Ooty

Arrival at Coimbatore airport or railway station and proceed to Ooty also known as Udhagamandal which means the “Queen of hill stations” and the capital of Nilgiris district. Nilgiris means “Blue Mountains”. It is a land of picturesque picnic spots. It used to be popular summer and weekend getaway for the British during the colonial days. Check into hotel /resort. Overnight at Ooty.

Day 2 : Ooty

After breakfast sightseeing of Ooty; Botanical Gardens, Ooty Lake, Lamb’s Rock. Overnight at Ooty.

Day 3 : Ooty to Kodaikanal

After breakfast, Check out from the hotel and proceed to Kodaikanal. Check into hotel. Day at leisure at Hotel

Day 4 : Kodaikanal

After breakfast proceed to kodaikanal. Sightseeing of Kodaikanal; Berijam Lake, Bryant Park, Rock Pillar. Overnight at Kodaikanal.

Day 5 – Departure

Departure at Madurai/Coimbatore/Bangalore

Leave a Reply